World Gastroenterology Organisation

Global Guardian of Digestive Health. Serving the World.

Who We Are

Clinical Research Committee

The Clinical Research Committee coordinates WGO-endorsed clinical research projects and related initiatives and advises WGO on relevant research-related issues and activities.

Chair, Clinical Research Committee, Prof. Des Leddin

Committee Chair

Desmond Leddin

Govind Makharia

Committee Vice Chair

Govind Makharia


Alan Barkun (Canada)
Aykut Ferhat Çelik (Turkey)
Ye Chen (China)
Hilmi Daoud (Sudan)
Reda Elwakil (Egypt)
Saeed Hamid, Hepatology Interest Group (Pakistan)
Takanori Kanai (Japan)
Harshit Khara (USA)
Justin Yeong Yeh Lee (Malaysia)
Finlay Macrae, Training Centers Committee (Australia)
Elias Makhoul (Lebanon)
Jean-Christophe Saurin, TTT Committee (France)
Sandie Thomson (South Africa)
Mark Topazian, WGO Treasurer (USA)
Kaichun Wu (China)
Reza Malekzadeh (Iran)
Wai Keung Leung (Hong Kong)
Raja Affendi Raja Ali (Malaysia)
Amna Subhan Butt (Pakistan)

Staff Liaisons

Krystal Antrim-Jones, WGO Program Manager

Robert Kopchinski, WGO and WGOF Assistant Director of Development


Website Disclaimer

Cookie Notice

We use cookies to ensure you the best experience on our website. Your acceptance helps ensure that experience happens. To learn more, please visit our Privacy Notice.